Graduate Student Senate (GSS) Travel Application site is down [Updated: site is up, same deadline]


The Graduate Student Senate (GSS) Travel Application site is up and running. GSS is not changing their deadline, therefore, the Colllege will not be changing its deadline. Applications will still be due in Dr. Benner’s office on the 21st.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged | Leave a comment

Do you want to make your prof really happy? (Part 1: Citations and references)


You know the old saying, “Happy professor, happy student.” There are many ways to make your professors happy. One way is to master the citation style in your discipline. For most of you that will be APA style.

The more time your professors have to spend on correcting your citations and references, the less time they have to (a)  prepare informative and engaging lessons for you, (b) comment on your actual ideas and thoughts, and (c) save the world with their all important research. Generally, it just makes them really grumpy.

So… before the semster starts, brush up on your citation style in three easy steps:

First, buy and read the current version of the style guide (e.g., the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association).

Second, use online sources like the APA’s own APA Style Blog and Quick Answers on http://www.apastyle.org/. For quick help, also consider the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL).

Third, learn and use a blibliography management tool like Endnote, which is free for UT students. For download instructions and links to online video tutorials, see: http://libguides.utk.edu/endnote

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged | Leave a comment

Departmental New & Returning KRSS Grad Student, Faculty & Staff Social (RSVP)


Departmental New & Returning KRSS Grad Student, Faculty & Staff Social

Who:

All new and returning KRSS Grad Students (significant others are welcome)

Required or not?

Not required but encouraged!

Come meet your fellow “newbies” as well as current grad students, faculty & staff.

When:

Tuesday, August 22, 2017

3:00pm – 5:00pm

Where:

HPER Rooms 235 & 239

Registration or RSVP:

RSVP to Lars Dzikus (lars@utk.edu) with number attending.

Returning students, please bring food to share.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged | 1 Comment

Hodges Library Open House: August 25


Hodges Library will hold open house during the first week of classes.

Graduate students are invited to an open house on Friday, August 25, 2:00-3:30 p.m., on the second floor of Hodges Library. Graduate students: Meet your department’s subject librarian and learn more about resources in your field. Learn how the library supports your research and teaching. Learn about citation management tools like Zotero and EndNote. Register for interlibrary loan and Library Express delivery. Bring your laptop and activate your wireless account. Join us for refreshments and door prizes.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged | Leave a comment

Learning Community Opportunities for Graduate Students and Postdoctoral Fellows


The University of Tennessee Knoxville has joined the Center for the Integration of Research, Teaching, and Learning (CIRTL) Network.

“The CIRTL mission is to enhance excellence in undergraduate education through the development of a national faculty committed to implementing and advancing effective teaching practices for diverse learners as part of successful and varied professional careers.” (http://www.cirtl.net/mission)

Resources offered by CITRL

CIRTL membership offers online courses and seminars. For example:

  • An Introduction to Evidence-Based Undergraduate STEM Teaching: A CIRTL College Classroom
  • Basics of Online Learning and Teaching

CIRTL has other multiple resources. For example:

  • Course Guidebooks
  • Latest Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Literature (Discipline Based Education Research)
  • Diversity Resources 

    To sign up:

  1. Go to https://www.cirtl.net/
  2. Click on Sign Up
  3. Follow Prompts
  4. Start Accessing Resources

For more info on UT CIRTL, contact, Ferlin McGaskey at fmcgaske@utk.edu

 

Fall 2017 Online Courses at CIRTL.net

Teaching with Technology*
Mondays, 10/2-12/4: Exact time is TBD. 90-minute sessions will fall within 11:30AM-1:30PM ET / 10:30AM-12:30PM CT / 9:30-11:30AM MT / 8:30-10:30AM PT
Discover new instructional tools and learn how to critically evaluate evolving technologies.

Teaching-as-Research

Mondays, 10/2-12/4: 2PM-3:30PM ET / 1PM-2:30PM CT / 12PM-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT

Plan and refine your own Teaching-as-Research project alongside a learning community of peers.

Creating Assessments for the STEM Classroom

Tuesdays, 10/3-11/28: 11:30AM-1PM ET / 10:30AM-12PM CT / 9:30AM-11AM MT / 8:30AM-10AM PT

Learn how to create and implement assessments particular to STEM courses.

The College Classroom: Teaching Inclusively

Tuesdays, 10/3-11/28: 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT

Study issues of inclusion and develop an inclusive micro-teaching plan in this hands-on course.

Diversity in the College Classroom

Wednesdays, 10/4-12/6: 12-1:30PM ET / 11AM-12:30PM CT / 10-11:30AM MT / 9-10:30AM PT

Understand the theory behind how diversity affects learning and develop practical classroom strategies.

Gender Bias Intervention in STEM for Women and Men

Thursdays, 10/5-12/7: 11:30AM-1:30PM ET / 10:30AM-12:30PM CT / 9:30-11:30AM MT / 8:30-10:30AM PT

Analyze gender bias and collaboratively develop approaches to counter gender bias in STEM.

Fall 2017 Online Workshops at CIRTL.net

Qualitative Research Primer: Using Narrative Data In Your Teaching-as-Research Project

Tuesdays, 10/10 and 10/24: 4:30-6:30PM ET / 3:30-5:30PM CT / 2:30-4:30PM MT / 1:30-3:30PM PT

Get an introduction to analyzing narrative data (intended especially for students pursuing a TAR project).

Finding and Evaluating Educational Literature

Friday, 10/20 and 10/27: 2-3:30PM ET / 1-2:30PM CT / 12-1:30PM MT / 11AM-12:30PM PT

Learn how to find and critically evaluate literature for educational research.

Diversity Statement Workshop*
Mondays, 10/23 and 10/30: Exact time is TBD. 90-minute sessions will fall within 4:30-6:30PM ET / 3:30-5:30PM CT / 2:30-4:30PM MT / 1:30-3:30PM PT
Learn how to draft a meaningful statement that is a common part of job applications.

Creating and Owning Your Individual Development Plan*
Wednesday, 11/1: Exact time is TBD. Tentative schedule is 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT Craft a robust IDP draft and action plan by learning the components of successful, sustainable plans.

Integrating Civic Learning into the STEM Classroom

Thursdays, 11/2 and 11/9: 2:30-4PM ET / 1:30-3PM CT / 12:30-2PM MT / 11:30AM-1PM PT

Civic learning intentionally prepares students for informed and engaged participation in their communities. Learn how to develop civic learning assignments and learning goals in this workshop.

Introduction to STEM Project Based Learning

Thursdays, 11/9 and 11/16: 8-9:30PM ET / 7-8:30PM CT / 6-7:30PM MT / 5-6:30PM PT

In project-based learning, students investigate relevant, complex scientific situations to learn new concepts. Learn how to design project-based learning activities in this workshop.

Leveraging Open Source Principles and Resources for Teaching and Learning in STEM

Fridays, 11/10 and 11/17: 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT

Learn the advantages and disadvantages of open source educational materials and sample two platforms with hands-on activities.

Writing a Teaching Philosophy Statement

Thursday, 11/30: 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT

Draft a peer-reviewed statement that reflects your teaching beliefs and experiences.

Teaching Inclusively

Tuesday, 12/5 or 12/12 (exact date TBD): 2-4PM ET / 1-3PM CT / 12-2PM MT / 11AM-1PM PT

Practice navigating difficult classroom discussions around issues of inclusion and diversity.

Fall 2017 Online Drop-In Events at CIRTL.net

Topics in STEMinism: Women Preparing for Post-PhD Careers in STEM

Wednesdays in October: 2-3PM ET / 1-2PM CT / 12-1PM MT / 11AM-12PM PT

Examine the various ways in which social and cultural contexts shape women’s experiences in male-dominated STEM fields in this four-part event series. Events in the series include:

10/4: The Status of Women Scientists
10/11: Preparing for and Navigating the Job Market
10/18: Women in STEM Careers Panel
10/25: Exploring Critical and/or Feminist STEM Teaching and Research

All-Network Teaching-as-Research Presentations

Wednesday, 11/29: 5-6:30PM ET / 4-5:30PM CT / 3-4:30PM MT / 2-3:30PM PT

Hear grad students and postdocs from across the CIRTL Network share the results of their Teaching-as-Research projects.

Fall 2017 MOOC at CIRTL.net

An Introduction to Evidence-Based Undergraduate STEM Teaching

Runs Monday, October 2 through Friday, November 17

Learn about STEM teaching at your own pace through online video modules and discussion boards in this MOOC developed by CIRTL Network faculty.

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged | Leave a comment

Best Practices in Publishing: Limited Registration Opens Tomorrow


Note:  The program is limited to the first 30 students. Registration opens Tuesday, August 15, at 9 a.m. Registration link: https://tiny.utk.edu/BPIP
The Best Practices in Publishing program provides opportunities to discuss research and
publishing-related issues with graduate students from across the University. Over seven
sessions in the fali, a range of topics will be introduced and discussed with campus
experts, including experienced faculty.
The BPIP program will be limited to 30 students. Sessions will be Tuesdays, 5:00-6:30 p.m.
Workshop Schedule: (subject to change of topics each week)
Sept 5th: Publishing: The Long Journey – Part I (A Panel Discussion), Hodges Library, Rm127
Sept 12th: Authorship Decisions and Concerns, Hodges Library, Rm 127
Sept 19th: Plagiarism, Research Misconduct, and Other Ethical Considerations, Hodges Library, Rm 127
Sept 26th: Citation Management, Hodges Library, Rm 127
Oct 3rd: Copyright and Ownership, Hodges Library, Rm 127
Oct 10th: Publishing: The Long Journey – Part II (How to Publish), Hodges Library, Rm 127
Oct 17th: Wrap-Up, Reception and Certificate Presentations, Hodges Library, Mary Greer Room

Participants will be required to attend and submit reflections and critiques of each session. In addition, participants will be required to partiCipate in discussions and question-and-answer sessions. You must attend all sessions to receive the certificate. An anonymous submission form will allow partiCipants to subm.it questions of a sensitive nature ahead of time so speakers will be able to discuss real concerns.

Upon successful completion of the program, you will receive a certificate acknowledging your participation in the program; this certificate should be a welcome addition to the dossier that you will need in applying for faculty positions and/or for retention/promotion.
Registration opens Tuesday, August 15, at 9 a.m. Registration link: https://tiny.utk.edu/BPIP
(Note: Link becomes active on 8/15)

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged | Leave a comment

Cultural & Linguistic Competence Express workshop: August 22, 2017


Cultural & Linguistic Competence Express

This 1-day workshop for graduate students in health-related disciplines is intended for up to 35 par cipants, so space is limited. Graduate students in the Departments of Public Health & Kinesiology, Recrea on & Sports Studies who plan to work with mothers, children, and their families are invited to a end along with all incoming graduate students in the Department of Nutrition.

Tuesday, August 22, 2017, 9:30 am – 5:00 pm

Jessie Harris Building, Room 244

Knowledge: Provides a cultural & linguis c competence knowledge base.

Awareness: Explore components of your own cultural background & the cultures of others.

Skills: Learn about culturally appropriate communica on, assessments & intervenons.

 

Register here: https://utk.co1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_afwdjoPlkPhpsEd

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged | Leave a comment